Fashion Loves Friday: Boot Season Edition

Almost everyone knows the general fashion rules about when and when not to wear white, but what about boots? I wanted to know this for myself, so I did a little research. Not that I’m in any hurry to pack away my sandals just yet, but as the days begin to get cooler, I want to make sure I’m not being totally un-cool by warming up my feet in some cushy boots. I read numerous forums and blogs on the subject and this is what I concluded as a general guide.  The time frame for when it is acceptable to start wearing boots is subject to 2 main factors: climate and personal style.

 If you live in, say, Vancouver, where early September days can see temperatures in the 50’s and 60’s,  then donning a pair of light weight boots in late summer is perfectly fine, as long as they’re not too heavy (nothing fur-lined). If you live in Florida, on the other hand, you may not want to drag your knee-high, suede, Cole Haan’s out of storage till sometime in November.  The first official day of Fall is a good rule of thumb for everyone in between, which usually takes place in late September. All of this depends, of course, on our own personal style. Fashion rules are made to be broken (if they can be broken successfully). When I was in college I would wear boots with shorts all the time; partly because they were comfortable, and partly because I fancied myself a trendsetter. I probably wouldn’t wear that now, but if you can pull it off, I say go for it!  

Cupcakes and Wild Ponies|boots

Image from: Free People

Cupcakes and Wild Ponies|boots

Image from: Liz Marie Blog

Leave a Reply

