5 Wooden Toy Craftsman that are Amazing!

#woodentoys #toys #naturaltoys cupcakesandwildponies

In a world filled with wires and screens, I am feeling an increasing love (as I think many are) for all things raw, natural, and wholesome. I am always looking for toys that inspire creativity in my kids, because I want them to learn to think outside the box. That’s why I have put together a list of 5 wooden toys that lack battery packs and on/off switches because they run entirely on imagination.

#woodentoys cupcakesandwildponies

These adorable little creatures are from Myriad Natural Toys & Crafts, a family run business specializing in hand-crafted toys. The idea behind the simplicity of the toys they offer is to awaken the “creative impulse” within children at play.

I love these wooden swords #woodentoys - cupcakesandwildponies

My first thought when I saw these wooden swords was of Peter Pan and Captain Hook, dueling it out. I haven’t met a little boy yet who didn’t love to play sword fighting, and these little wooden ones from Friendly Fairies are about the cutest swords I’ve ever seen.

Wooden Semi Truck #woodentoys - cupcakesandwildponies

If woodworking is your jam and you are interested in making your own wooden toys, here is a great site that offers plans for making trucks like these. I can definitely see this being something that my husband and kids will be into when they are a little older.

wooden slingshots #woodentoys - cupcakesandwildponies

I remember being a kid and looking for the perfect stick to make a slingshot with. Of course, when I found the perfect stick I would wrap a rubber band around it and use an actual ROCK to lob at my siblings. That’s why I love these tiny slingshots with pom poms from Tweet Toys. They are way cuter and way less painful!

Take -G Woodwork #woodentoys - cupcakesandwildponeis

There is something so inspired about the simplicity of these futuristic toys hand crafted out of wood. Japanese craftsman Nakagawa Takeji or “Take-G” is a true artist that portrays the whimsy of childhood with a sophisticated attention to detail in each piece.

I love that there is a growing demand for toys more closely resembling nature.  I want to make sure my kids stay in touch with their imagination and nature as our world becomes more and more tech focused.

One thought on “5 Wooden Toy Craftsman that are Amazing!

Leave a Reply

